Sunday, April 24, 2011

OWC Shred

so much exciting stuff has happened in my little action sports life and i am stoked to share! i have been riding at owc and pushing myself to try new things. still trying to land 180 off the kicker and 360 on the table top..or just riding off it switch to get the feel for it. it has been so fun. i went with jeff for 2 hours fri and sat! it was so fun. sometimes i have to remember that it's not so much riding til the very end my time is up but enjoying my riding and having fun and doing it because i love it...and then stopping whenever i get tired and feel as if i am done for the day without putting any unneccesary pressure on myself because i cant and wont improve well that way or have a good time and thats the whole point right? well anyways yeah. and on friday there were so many pros, clay fletcher and shane bonifay to name a couple. i fell on the table top next to nessy and was swimming away and shane was behind me on the cable and flew right over me on it! he was like ahh and pretended like he didnt see me but he saw me and said he was just kidding of something like that. then after in line i said that was a nice trick jumping over me but he said he knew i was there. It was cool talking and watching a pro who was just riding like everyone else even though he is someone i see in the magazines! jeff got to ride the 2.0 cable and it's like a boat cable hybrid because the cable will come back to you if you fall. and you are also the only one on it, so it was pretty cool and fun to watch him and other people go flying doing a bunch of fun looking flips and surface tricks. you def gotta do it for yourself and ride for no one else and do it because you have fun doing it. i also met a wakeskater chica who def pushed me to try new things at the cable like big white which i didnt land but it was cool trying something new for sure. then i went to her house and she pulled me on her jetski in lake jessamine and i tried to get a shuv and am close, but didnt nail it yet. then she taught me how to ride her ski and she did a shuv off the wake which was ballin. it was mad fun, hopefully maybe do it again sometime! also, this has been my third saturday on the radio! i get to be a part of an action sports show and it couldn't be cooler!

Saturday, April 9, 2011

All action, all the time with Kevin Sutton Show on ESPN 1080am

So I went riding yesterday and my legs are feelin it today! It was so fun though. I am still working on doing 180s off the kicker. I can land it, but the rope gets pulled out of my itty bitty hand so fast that I haven't seemed to be able to ride away clean yet. But I landed tabletop with style everytime I attempted it so that made my day! Also saw Cathy Williams out there coaching and said hey to her. Thinking about getting some fun wakeboard lessons in over summer possibly even though I've been more focused on wakeskating lately. My gator board is pretty epic and it's so much fun to ride. Everyones mad friendly at odub and I love the good vibes...I was even asked about getting a seasons pass..maybe I will, who knows! So today I went to the ESPN 1080 am station and got to be a part of the Kevin Sutton Show. It's a one hour radio show from 12-1pm on Saturdays focusing action sports and highlighting other interesting and entertaining topics. I couldn't stop laughing it was a great show and the people I met who are a part of the show was awesome. They made me feel right at home and I had a great time being part of the show as "intern paige" or "page paige" it was very fun. Got to even grab some photos and video footage with me and Kevin himself so that was great!

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Shred

I got to ride OWC Friday and Saturday this weekend and it was so fun! Landed the beginner side kicker consistently and now need to work on my 180s off it. Then also tried the new slider on that side as well which is fun! Then ended my Saturday set with a slide across the table top on the advanced cable...sliding on my bottom that is. Hahaha, Supposed to be raining Tuesday so weekend shred set this upcoming weekend looks like a good idea :)!!!! Even though this video is a little old, check it out its still sick!

Friday, April 1, 2011

wakeskate kicks with drain holes > rainboots haha

So it was raining all day yesterday so I couldn't make it to OWC. Luckily it is sunny today so I am going to ride over there today for an hour or two long set! :) Hopefully I remember how to ride on the faster advanced cable, it's been a couple months ahh!

Saturday, March 26, 2011

im baackkkk

It's been a little bit, but I'm back to updating my blog! I've always incorporated some action sports here and there, but I will try to do it more now because it's kinda a little part of who I am or at least strive to be in a way. I would love to get to be as talented as the riders I read and see video and pictures of! Or at least be the best rider that I can be!
Yesterday, 3/26, was the first time I went riding at OWC after taking a break for a few months because of the cold weather! In between that time I was lucky enough to get to snowboard a couple times which was sick! :) And tomorrow I plan on going surfing with my friend Roxie! Haven't gone since this summer in Costa Rica which feels like so long ago, but I'm still pretty stoked